Maryland  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
4/15/05, 9:50 am

Legal Question


Deductions from security deposit

I moved out of my apartment November 1. I called and gave notice that I was moving out October 1 and at that time was asked to come in and put notice in writing which I did at the first available opportunity, October 5. On the written notice it was stated I would move out of my apartment on November 1. I at no time was notified that my notice was insufficient and was told that no November rent would be assessed if I was out of the apartment by the 1st of the month. My security deposit was never received and I contacted the management office at the beginning of March to have the problem rectified. When I finally received my check $120 had been deducted for the first 5 days of November rent and a $25 stop payment fee had been deducted as well. Is it legal for the apartment to charge me for these things when the above information is taken into consideration?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search