Maryland | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
HMO doctors
Can an hmo doctor dump you in the middle of referlls and test and say he will no loonger treat you. And still be treating out hmo patients?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Take Action I advise you contact the HMO and request another doctor. The HMO's course of action is limited by the type of plan as approved through the Maryland Insurance Commission. This information is not provided in your question. It also appears that you have an issue of non-coverage. Again, this is a matter with the HMO. Again, I cannot tell without knowing all the relevant information.
It is possible that there is an explanation for the doctor's actions. Without knowing the reason "why" he has stopped treatment, it is impossible to say. Beyond the insurance issues noted above, medical malpractice may lie. Note: I said "MAY". Medical malpractice is tough in Maryland. The standard applied is the relevant community standard. Thus you need an expert from the relevant local medical community to testify as to the malpractice...tough to come by. If you do not like this standard contact you local State senator and complain and maybe a new code will emerge.
If you would like to discuss this matter, contact me at (410) 799-9002. Please leave a message indicating the matter and where you may be reached during evening hours.
DISCLAIMER: NO LEGAL ADVICE IS PROVIDED HEREIN AND NO INFERENCE THEREOF SHOULD BE TAKEN.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Joseph A. Trevino
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-20
Joseph Greenwald & Laake Pa
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


