Maryland | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
Statute of limitations to expire! From when? Need to file ASAP-
I had a tooth extracted by a student on 1/12/04 at U of MD Dental School's clinic. It led to infection and 3 to 4 more oral surgeries. After last surgery on 3/30/04 I was in so much pain that my personal physician got me a CT scan and found my jaw was broken. The bone had rotted away from the infection.
I had 2 major surgeries, to repair my jaw bone, install a titanium plate, and treat the infection. Hospitalized 10 days, on IV meds for 6 weeks, twisted lip, loss of feeling in jaw, major scar, etc. Lost my job. Saw attorneys who were interested in the case, but suggested I wait until all my corrective work was done, as I had no money, and the school paid for my treatment. Their insurance made an offer 2 years ago but I thought it was too low at the time.
Mental health issues and bad advise, hoping for settlement, now the statute of limitations is about to expire. I have dental records but no doctors cert of merit. MD law allows 90 days to submit after filing my claim.
How much time do I have to submit a claim to the state board to preserve my right to sue? Does it expire at date of extraction, or discovery of the broken jaw?
Can I prepare an initial claim against the school myself and have it added to later? How?


