Maryland  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
5/31/02, 1:06 pm

Legal Question


How to proceed regarding slander

We run a small business in Maryland. Late last year, one of our employees resigned and in February of this year, opened her own business. We recently learned that she has been contacting our clients and relaying false information to them, such as that we have a current employee who is abusing animals and stating that at least one of our current employees is providing her with this information (and the employee she is stating provided the information has not spoken to this former employee since she resigned). We have had several clients stop coming to our business and believe this is a result of the falsehoods being made about our business and one of our current employees. What can we do at this point to cease the untrue remarks and does the current employee who is being slandered have any rights to protect her reputation? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search