Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
co-ownership
I purchased a townhouse with my boyfriend 2 yrs. ago. I am the co-owner in deed & note. He has paid the mortgage while I took care of the house, and some of the other bills. We are splitting up and there is 50k+ in equity in the house. I would like to get 13k out of it to pay off my truck (so I can afford an apartment) before I sign the house over to him. He says I don't have a ''leg to stand on'' because I didn't actually write the check that paid the mortgage. Aren't I entitled to at least the 13k if not the entire 1/2 of the equity when we refinance and I sign the house over to him? Can I refuse to sign it over unless I get the 13k out of it? Will I still be entitled to 1/2 down the road when he decides to sell it? Do I have to stay in it to be entitled to receive the $$ or can I move out? What are my rights & entitlement?
Thank you, --name removed--M.--name removed--


