Maryland | Social Security Law
Legal Question
I recive SSI not my wife- she dosnt work
If I tell SSI we are marrie4d will my SSI income gho up, or is that only if BOTH spouses are reciving SSI(disabled)?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Carolyn Press |
Re: I recive SSI not my wife- she dosnt work Your SSI income can not go up because of your marriage or because of dependant children. It can go down if you are receiving any financial assistance from another person, including a spouse or other family member. For example, if you are living in a home belonging to your wife, or if she has income of any kind which helps support you, your SSI may go down. If your wife is also disabled, but is receiving Social Security disability benefits rather than SSI, that, too, could reduce your SSI benefits. The only way your SSI income could go up, except for an automatic increase based on cost of living, would be if your original benefit was reduced from the maximum because you were receiving help from parents, or someone else, which you no longer receive. If you lived with a parent when you began receiving SSI, and your parent provided housing, food, or whatever, and you are now living with a disabled wife, without help from your parents, your benefis could go up. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
F. Randall Selagy, P.C.
Kennett Square, PA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
ingerman&horwitz llp
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Offices of Kim Parker P.A.
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-30
Heard & Smith, LLP
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Reed Legal Group
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-19
Frank Haskell, III
Upper Marlboro, MD
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-21
Search Questions and Answers


