Maryland | Traffic Law
Legal Question
I got a speeding ticket in January 2009. My trial date was scheduled April 10, 2009. I wanted to postpone the trial. I was told that I had to make a "deposit for a new trial date". This didn't sound right to me and I asked 4 different people about it and was told I had to do it that way. I gave the district court a check for $80 on April 7, 2009. I was told this was for a new date and that I was NOT pleading "guilty". I wrote on the check "deposit for a new date." The receipt I received reads "Penalty Dep". I received a notice from my insurance company that I was losing my good driver discount because of the ticket. I went to DMV and confirmed this. I have a "Notice of Trial Date" from the district court for November 3, 2009. Is this a violation of my rights to be "guilty" before my trial. Can I get my driving record cleared?


