Massachusetts  |  Technology Law

question bubble
2/26/03, 1:14 pm

Legal Question


satellite programming

I received a letter from Direct TV concerning the purchase of a card reader I bought two or three years ago. It was not illegal to possess such devices at the time I bought it. It was for my own personal use and no information gained from it was sold or transferred to anyone. Direct TV acquired my name from the vender’s business records and is threatening to bring suit against me under U.S.C. $ 2512(1)(B). They are offering to forego litigation if I surrender this device, execute a written statement, and pay a monetary sum. However, I am physically handicapped and live on a fixed disability income and can not pay their fee (I assume it will be around $3,000 - $10,000). They are requesting a response to their letter by March 7, 2003. My question is how should I handle this? If I respond to them will that not be an admission of an unlawful act?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search