Massachusetts | Construction Law
Legal Question
Fire Restoration
I hired a local contractor for a major home restoration which included removing and replacing old siding. During the removal, they removed a outside light fixture and let ''hang'' by the wire for days. My house caught fire soon thereafter and cause went back to that fixture. Long story short, he verbally offered to fix fire damage at materials cost. No direct blame was place on him. His Ins and the original electrician's ins took some of the claim. My ins paid the balance. The original project was completed 4-mos late, but I paid him in full. Now he is looking to get full value for the fire restoration (he thinks I received a hefty settlement check from Ins). His last invoice mentioned a Mechanics Lein. If he sues, how can I defend? Also, how can I prevent the lein? The original project included a signed contract. I never received a quote or signed any document committing to pay for the fire restoration.
THANKS


