Massachusetts  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/16/07, 5:06 pm

Legal Question


breach of contract/check fraud?

I sold my car to a ''friend'' for an

initial down payment of $1000 and

agreed to receive payments of $250

every other week. I kept my name

on the title as a lien holder and still

have the title. I have since moved to

Arizona and immediately had

problems. before leaving, she gave

me all of the payments in the form

of post-dated checks. i received 2

payments before leaving, but the

first check i deposited after moving

bounced. every other check has

since bounced and she has refused

all contact with me. i have several

different charges from both my bank

and credit card accounts because of

this. i kept one key as a security

measure and have family that i trust

to act on my behalf. how can i

resolve this issue? i have already

tried to convince her to resolve this

issue reasonably, but i am beyond

frustration and months of

aggravation are building up. can i go

after her for check fraud, breach of

contract (which we both signed and

she admitted to losing), or repo my

former car?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search