Massachusetts  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
6/01/07, 8:53 am

Legal Question


Personal loan

I made a personal loan to a couple to help them pay their taxes in March 2006. I did not get it in writing, I did give them 2 seperate checks for$5000, and $10,000 out of my personal checking account and marked them as a loan. They have been avoiding me and giving me nothing but excuse after excuse as to why they have not paid me back. We were very close but have become distant over this issue. My concern is I now know they have financial troubles beyond what they had told me and are in the process of putting their house on the market and relocating from Mass. to Navada. Do i have any options legally?? Is it possible for me to put a lein on their house to insure payment at the closing?? I would appreciate any advice you might have.

Thank you in advance,

--name removed--


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search