Massachusetts  |  Employment Law

question bubble
5/08/09, 4:23 pm

Legal Question


unemployment

I accepted a settlement from my former employer, I sued for wrongful termination, they refused to reinstate me but offered me $ and a promise not to appeal any favorable decision on my behalf from unemployment. my question then would be isn't the fact that they offered a settlement an admission that they were wrong, and what should I tell unemployment about the settlement? So if they decide to decline my unemployment application, and I appeal and my former employer doesn't show up for the hearing do I automatically win? One third of the settlement is to my lawyer, the rest is for overdue bills, Ive been out of work since 2/27/09, will unemployment consider that ''back pay''? Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search