Massachusetts  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
5/02/07, 10:00 am

Legal Question


Illegal Eviction?

As of May 31st we have been evicted from our apartment. We are current on rent and have not violated any of our lease aggreement.The landlord came to our house and gave us a notice to quit. He said that the Dracut police department went to his house and told him they are doing a drug raid of our apartment because they have been watching us for months and they have pictures and surveillance of us drug trafficking. He also told us he doesn't know when the raid will happen so we should get out as quick as we can because DSS will be here and take the kids away. We went to the Dracut police department and spoke with someone about the allegations and they said they have absolutely no police reports from this address or anything about drug trafficking. Those are really serious allegations. We were also told by the police station he didn't even serve us a legal eviction notice. What rights do we have? Should we fight this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search