Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Massachusetts

My Lessor has charged me $200.00 for 8 months for non payment of a rent adjustment (transfer to another apt. same Lessor) Does their following language uphold Lessor to accrue monthly as they have done or is their language supportive of only a one time charge? Here is Lessor statement..."Regulations also require the Lessor to impose a $25.00 late fee to any account which is not paid in full within 30 days." (Massachusetts) Thanks, Richie

Asked on 9/19/13, 7:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Pransky Law Office of Alan J. Pransky
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Under G.L. c. 186, 15B, (c) a landlord cannot impose any interest or penalty for failure to pay rent until thirty days after such rent shall have been due.

Read more
Answered on 9/19/13, 11:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Massachusetts

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now