After being caught with possession of a controlled substance, how long do they have to bring charges or convict you of the crime? I was caught over three years ago and have never been charged with anything.
1 Answer from Attorneys
They have 6 years from the date of the offense to bring charges. It can take anywhere from 6 months to a year for the lab results to come back. It is probably not likely that they would file charges after 3 years if they have not done so already. However, they may very well have filed charges and you just don't know about it. You could very well have an active warrant. I would call the court to see if you have an active warrant for your arrest.
Related Questions & Answers
I used a bail bondsman to get a friend out because I didn't have enough money for... Asked 10/01/13, 3:56 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law
Hello, so about 3 and a half months ago my boyfriend, my friend, and I got pulled... Asked 10/01/13, 12:27 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law
My ex-boyfriend is harassing me through text messages. He hasn't threaten to harm me... Asked 9/27/13, 8:49 am in United States Michigan Criminal Law
How long can the police detain you without formal charges in Michigan? Asked 9/25/13, 12:56 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law
When my ex-fiancé and I lived together he opened a credit card to get a... Asked 9/24/13, 4:33 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law