Michigan | Criminal Law
7/12/08, 9:02 am
Legal Question
juvenile runaway
is it a crime to help a runaway. what are the consequences?
juvenile runaway
is it a crime to help a runaway. what are the consequences?
|
Read More Answered By: Neil O'Brien |
Re: juvenile runaway Harboring a runaway is a misdemeanor that carries up to 1 year in jail and/or $500 fine. |
|
Read More Answered By: Audra Arndt |
Re: juvenile runaway Yes, you could be charged with "harboring a runaway." If the police know he/she is at your house, they will show up, ask you to release the person, and if you cooperate, you will likely not be charged. If the person has runaway due to abuse, etc., the minor should immediately file a complaint and get CPS involved. You can attempt to obtain temporary custody of the child, but it would take a few weeks to get the paperwork in place, depending on what county you reside in, and depending on if the parents objected. |
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2486
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Lansing, MI
Questions Answered: 2339
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Troy, MI
Questions Answered: 1728
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Charlotte, MI
Questions Answered: 954
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Howell, MI
Questions Answered: 414
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-16
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 308
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► Criminal law i have a misdeamor and to get it off my record how do i go about that
► Domestic assult my husband was arrested for domestic violence. I asked for the...
► I HAVE A ARRAIGNMENT I have court time set up for nsf checks if i pay this off...
► I feel my son was wrong charged What can I do to make sure he was charge right on...
► Non-narcoatic charge my son was turning in pill he found on bus, cop at school...
► Warrants/Public record I was told that someone I know has warrants out on them. I am...
► 2 counts felony assault and 2 counts domestic abuse My boyfriend is in hail for 2...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press