Michigan  |  DUI Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 3:01 am

Legal Question


I received an OWI in May of 2008. I was ordered to start making my payments in September of 2008. The OWI caused me to lose everything, my job, home, my car. I had to move in with I didnt know very well just to put a roof over my head. We went for weeks at a time without electricity and did not at all have a phone line. I did everything I could to come up with my first payment on time but failed. I had no way of contacting the court to ask to see my probation officers to see what I could do about not having the funds to pay my first month with. I have since worked very hard to get myself out of the place I was and am now able to pay my fines in full. I am worried though for being in violation for so long that I may be sentenced to jail time and have more fines added on. I am ok with having more fines but am worried about the jail time. If I have to do jail time I will lose my job and thus be right back in the same boat I was in in the first place and not have the income to pay the additional fines. I rely on my room mate to get back and for from work as he is also my co worker. I will have no way to seek other work or even attend it if I do find it if I lose the job I have now. Is there anything I can do to avoid jail time?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search