Michigan | Family Law
Legal Question
adoptive father signing over rights to adoptive mother
Hi,
Three years ago me and my ex husband adopted two of our foster children. We have since divorced. We oth feel that it would be in the childrens best interests if they were raised by just me. As the children never really bonded with him. His visits with the children have really tapered off to about 2 days a month due to the fac tthat the children scream evertime they go woth him and are terrible the whole time they are with him. It is not a positive experience for any involved. I guess it like going to soeoen you dont really know as he wokred 60-70 hours week when we were married. We feel that the children need stabilty they had come from a broken home and are now subject to another one and it taking a toll on them emotionally. Is there any way that he can sign over his rights to me if i totally agree to it and it is in their best interests. I want what is best for my kids. i would not ask for any supports from him.
I am not remarried but i am engaged so there is not another man to step p to the plate. My fiance is not yet ready to step up to the plate and adopt these kids either. I just want what is best for my babies. It hurts to see them suffering.


