Michigan | Traffic Law
Legal Question
On October 7, 2009, in Westland, Mi., on a rainy night about 10pm, I was making a from newburgh rd. (4 lanes and 1 center lane) onto ford rd. (4 lanes and 1 center lane) when i hit a pedestrian 1/3 the way into my turn. He went into the nearby gas station and declined help and was no injuries were visible. So i called 911 myself and waited for the police to arrive on the scene. The ambulance took the guy to the hospital and the police issued me a ticket for hitting the pedestrian. I believe the pedestrian was not legally within the crosswalk when he was hit. In fact, i know he was in the intersection when he was hit. Nevertheless, at court the judge plead my case (he say he was doing me a favor) down to careless driving and fine me $160.00.
How can i appeal this decision. Was the pedestrian drunk? How can i get the hospital records from the incident? The police never proved by reasonable doubt that the pedestrian was ever in the crosswalk. Not to mention did he have the right-of-way. Can someone please help me.


