Minnesota  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
3/05/03, 10:54 pm

Legal Question


Need advise on how to handle sueing claim

I recently received a summons from an ex-girlfriend from about 4 years ago stating that she was sueing me for about 6000 dollars. When we were dating we both had joint accounts with multiple creditors. When we broke up we split up the accounts and each agreed to pay off the creditors we had taken responsibility for. She paid off her half but I was not able to and after the accounts had gone through collections they were eventually written off marring both of our credit historys. Now according to the summons she is demanding the $6000 as damages for the amount she paid to the creditors. She did not pay off the amount that I owed. Those amounts are still reflected on my credit history. She is demanding the money for the half of the debt she paid. My question is two-fold: 1) Can she legally sue me for money that I do not owe her (I owe the creditors), and 2) How do I go about handling this if I do owe her the money. I am a college student now paying for my own way through school and I do not have a lot of extra cash each month. Can she force me to make payments that would prevent me from making my school payments thereby forcing my to drop out of school? Any answers to these questions would be most appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search