Legal Question in Criminal Law in Mississippi

A friend of ours asked my husband if he could borrow money to get back to work. (He works off.) The money was supposed to be paid when he received his paycheck 2 weeks later. He originally claimed he broke his arm and could never get the money to us due to doctor appts he had to be at, someone breaking into his vehicles and having to fill out police reports, going through a roadblock on the way to our house, etc. He bought time until he "left for work" again. He was supposed to be gone a week and it has been 2 1/2 months and counting. Every day he claims he hopes they allow him to come home the next morning, but it just drags on and on. We recently found out he is not employed, nor has he been since this began. He never needed the money for transportation to work. All of our communication from the beginning was through text messages, so everything is recorded. I know we have a case to file suit in civil court, but that's not going to accomplish anything. My question is, do we have grounds for fraud charges considering he lied about his reason for borrowing?

Asked on 11/03/13, 12:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Wayne Woodall Wayne Woodall Attorney
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. Take the text messages to the prosecutor and let him download the lot of messages. You should be in good position to obtain restitution.

Read more
11/03/13, 5:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now