Legal Question in Traffic Law in Mississippi

Today, I was pulled over for a traffic violation (violation was “Disregard for traffic device”) while headed to college. I was in the left turning lane when I received a circle green light. I drove into the median in hopes to get a small gap to complete my left turn on to campus. The light turned red and I was still in the median, and I couldn’t back up. So, I proceeded to make my turn into the college. This is when a cop on a motorcycle turned on his lights to pull me over. He said that I ran a red-light. I told him very nicely that I had nowhere to go but forward. He then told me that I should have never crossed the white line until I was actually turning. Like I mentioned above, the light was green when I first moved up past the median. He mentioned that I could have caused an accident by running the red light. However, I could have also gotten in a wreck by sitting there in the median once the light turned red. Should I attempt to fight this in court?

Asked on 9/17/10, 7:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Wayne Woodall Wayne Woodall Attorney
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed


Read more
Answered on 9/27/10, 9:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now