Missouri | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
I am being charged with possession of child pornography. Now I first want to establish that I in no way have any interest in children in a sexual way, nor have I ever had such an interest. I am a victim of limewire, and an internet porn addiction (legal porn). But I am afraid the evidence seized in a search and seizure by the police will make it look as though I did intentionally acquire the illegal images.
I have read the warrant and what it entails. First of all, police never told me I had the right to deny them access. secondly, they seized a bottle of adderall and oxycodone i had next to my bed (both perscription). They were in a unmarked bottle, but they could have easily matched them with the ones in marked perscription bottles upstairs and known they were legal. These had nothing to do with the focus of the search warrant. It listed electronic devices and anything containing possible child pornography. It did not list any suspicious drugs or medication. I have a record of them taking this through the inventory they left (hand written). What if those were medicines that I needed to live each day. I feel as if this act violated the terms of their warrant. Is this possible? I realize you would probably need more details on the warrant, etc. But is it possible this could have been illegaql for them to do. Thus allowing me to argue in court to have all evidence dismissed. Or have my attorney do so rather.


