Missouri | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
ok i just found that there is a warrent out for me for wirting bad checks here in st.louis who do i contact to try to pay them so i can get that warrent off my name
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony DeWitt |
Once a prosecutor issues a warrant for an arrest, charges have been filed. Merely paying the check does not cause the criminal case to go away. You need to hire a seasoned criminal defense attorney to handle this matter for you. Assuming you can pay the checks, and the extra fees, there is a chance that an attorney can work out a deal for you that will not involve being arrested. However, if you cannot pay off all the checks and all the fees, you may need to see both a criminal defense attorney as well as a bankruptcy attorney. Either way, do not delay in getting this taken care of. If you call the prosecutor's office they will tell you what you owe, but they may also tell you that you have to surrender, be booked, and post bond. An attorney might be able to help you avoid that, depending on the prosecution's method of handling these matters. Good luck. |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Jonathan D. McDowell
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Tad K. Morlan, Attorney at Law
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


