Missouri | Elder Law
Legal Question
Power of Attorney
If I have power of attorney for someone can I be held responsible for their bills.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony DeWitt |
Re: Power of Attorney A power of attorney gives you the right to act for someone else. If you act outside the scope of your authority, you can be held personally liable. Lets look at two examples.
You hold the POA for your mother, who is ill, and who needs nursinghome care. You sign for her to enter the nursing home, which everyone recognizes is necessary. Once her assets are exhausted, you do not incur personal liabiity.
Suppose now, that after putting mom in Happy Acres, you go out and buy a brand new Maseratti in her name, when you mother doesn't drive, and can't drive. You spend $90,000 doing this. If your actions are ever challenged you may have personal liability because you breached your duty to your mother by getting something that provided her no benefit.
Hope this helps explain things. |
Top Attorneys in MO
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
Joseph R. Burcke, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Post Warren Lindstrom, LLP
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-25
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Bradley M. Herrin, P.C.
St. Charles, MO
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-11-28
Tina Parsley Hughes, LLC
Blue Springs, MO
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-18
Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


