Legal Question in Family Law in Missouri

Common law marriage in Missouri

I was wondering how long a couple has to be together for it to be considered common law marriage in the state of Missouri. Also I was wondering what common marriage exactly meant, is it the same a when people have an official marriage license. Do they have rights to assets, power of attorney, and so forth?

Asked on 2/20/09, 9:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Common law marriage in Missouri

There is no common law marriage in Missouri.

Read more
Answered on 2/20/09, 11:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Adam LambertThe Law Office of Adam S. LambertNew Orleans, LA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now