Missouri | Personal Injury
Legal Question
is there a formula for cominsation from being hurt in an auto accident? is it generally three times your doctor and hosspital bills for pain and suffering?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Harvath |
Hi. There is no precise formula for arriving at an appropriate figure that you should be asking for in your demand letter to the insurance company, or, ultimately, accepting as a reasonable settlement. This is so because the correct amount of damages for future medical treatment and pain and suffering can vary anywhere between 2 to 5 times the amount of the medical expenses incurred to date. Certain types of injuries will have substantially increased settlement value. Moreover, even the amount that you demand will have an effect on the settlement potential of the case. Factors such as pre-existing medical conditions, children, if any, lifestyle, and whether or not the person has a lawyer handling the claim, will all influence the settlement amount. A few additional details would be needed to provide an approximation of the correct amount to demand, and, also, an appropriate amount to settle for. What is the extent of the injuries? I can be reached, for your convenience, at mth2000@yahoo.com. I am a personal injury attorney in Missouri. Thank you.
NOTE: This answer is for educational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. The use of this site does not establish an attorney-client relationship or privilege between the user and the attorney responding. |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Ankerholz and Smith
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 345
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The S.E. Farris Law Firm
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-22
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
Harvath Law Offices-INJURY case representation
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Stevens Law Firm
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
McLeod & Heinrichs
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 53
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-26
Search Questions and Answers


