Missouri  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/15/12, 10:32 am

What is the statute of limitations in Missouri, regarding contract law, specifically UIM first party auto coverage?

4 Answers


Answered on: 6/15/12, 10:47 am by M. Scott Montgomery

Ten years

Scott@montgomerylaw.org

417-827-3866

toll free 888-444-1005


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


the montgomery law firm llc 2808 ingram mill road Springfield, MO 65804

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/15/12, 10:58 am by Timothy Price

If you have a first party Missouri UIM claim, the statute of limitations is 10 years. Other issues must be explored as well however such as whether the claim against the 3rd party tortfeasor has been resolved and, if so, how it was resolved and whether the UIM carrier was put on notice of the potential UIM claim. It is important to put the UIM carrier on notice of the potential UIM claim as soon as possible so as to preserve any UIM claim that may exist.

Without having any information about your potential claim, I am obvioulsy not in a positition to give you legal advice. Thus, nothing in this response should be taken as legal advice.

I have extensive experience handling such 1st party claims. Please feel free to give me a call at 816-380-3331. Initial consultations are free. Most cases are thereafter handled on a contingency fee basis per a written fee agreement with the client.

The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Timothy P. Price, PC 2502A West Mechanic Harrisonville, MO 64701

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/15/12, 11:38 am by Robert Curran

The other answers are correct, and it is 10 years, BUT you should be aware that it is possible to accidentally destroy your UIM claim by settling with the at-fault people without first getting permission to do so from your UIM carrier. Even if settling with the at-fault people for their full, maximum policy limits, it's always best to give the UIM carrier a chance to pay you the other driver's policy limits and preserve their subrogation rights (which is their right to sue the at-fault person and get re-paid the UIM and other money they pay you).

Hope this helps. We have extensive experience handling UIM claims, and avoiding these pitfalls. Please feel free to give me a call at 417-823-7500. Initial consultations are free.

This is not legal advice, and nothing in this response should be considered legal advice. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Curran Law Firm 3516 South National Avenue Springfield, MO 65807

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search