New Hampshire  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
9/09/09, 3:16 pm

Legal Question


Recently there was an altercating at my house in NH. I bought my home before I was married and it is in my name. My husband has a home in his name in MA, again purchased in his name prior to this marriage. During an argument, I repeatedly asked him to go to MA as my children with my first husband were home and it was escalating. After him saying no, i threw a cup of water at him. He was hit with water i still had the plastic cup in my hand. He in turn threw a wrench at me, hitting me in the leg as I was walking into the house. I called the police asking that someone ask him to leave the home, that the children were home. The police arrived we both told the same story, and I was arrested as the aggressor. The police never asked to see where the fight occured, they never asked where I was hit by the wrench. I returned to the police the next day demanding pictures of the bruising be taken. My questions are the following: if we each have a home in our name was I wrong to ask him to leave? Do police typically arrest the aggressor vs the more violent of charges? If I called the police for help, should it have been looked into more thoroughly?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search