New Jersey  |  Business Law

question bubble
3/22/00, 12:50 am

Legal Question


Do I have any recourse if a client stops payment on a check that she paid to me?

My questions:

*Can my tax client legally place a stop payment on my check for work that I, as a CPA, did without calling me to ask me to redo something or at least informing me that she was unhappy?

*Do I have any recourse? Can I take my tax client to small claims court (of course after my busy tax season) as a principal of matter to get my money. (It is the stop payment that is upsetting me and my loss in time)

*Can I threaten to call the IRS to request an audit of her return (because I feel it is done incorrectly) if she refuses to pay me?

*Can the client take my return somewhere else to be prepared without telling me after I completed it and was paid. Then stop payment on my check saying the other accountant gave her a bigger refund?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search