New Jersey | Business Law
Legal Question
I was registered in business with another person in a beauty salon in the state of NJ. We got behind on our rent and the landlord offered us out of the remaining lease. I took the out and she didn't, she decided to stay and had the landlord to write up another lease, I refused to sign it because I wanted to opt out. I received papers in the mail she is suing me for $15,000 for leaving the business. I had made arrangements to pay back rent with the landlord. We had no written agreement for business. The tax ID# is registered in my name only, can she still use it since I'm no longer there? I need to get my name off the business at the County Court House, She is not agreeable to close the business under the name we are registered it. Can I counter sue her for continuing to operated the business with my name and tax id# since I'm no longer there?


