New Jersey | Consumer Law
Legal Question
My fiance signed up for a company that delivers "high quality" foods to the home. He was told, and I witnessed, that normally they offer a free freezer to store the food in but since we already had a freezer, we would get a free cookware set. Happy with what he heard, he signed the various forms where he was told to sign, and, confident that he had all the information from the salesman, didn't read the forms. Today we got a bill for the cookware and upon going back to the forms while getting ready to call the company and demand to know why we got this bill, we discovered that not only was this cookware not free, but it cost $4200 and that even if we cancel delivery of the food, we still have to pay for the cookware and all sales are final. I feel that he was scammed and while it was stupid for him to not read the paperwork, I want to know if there is any legal way out of this contract. We don't want to keep the cookware, we just want to return it and not be charged. It was also low quality and the "Non-stick" pots took hours to clean between scrubbing and soaking. We are supporting a family of 5 on his unemployment right now and I start a new job next week but it will just be enough to make ends meet. Neither of us ever would have knowingly signed on for a $4200 set of cookware. Ridiculous.


