New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I live in New Jersey and I just received a payment agreement from a debt collector on a debt I legitmately owe. They claim in the agreement that this agreement will stay in effect for as long as my payments are made on time otherwise they will "enforce the full judgement balance." They also included an Information Subpoena which requests all my personal information, bank account numbers etc.....Do I have to supply them with this info and if so why do they need it? Is it just as a back up in the event I did miss a payment? or is it to wipe out my bank account and put liens against my personal property regardless that they are getting monthly payments on time. I want to accept their offer but I am nervous about giving them all my personal info. My husband was out of work for 10 months, hence the reason for credit card debt and I'm afraid what little we have saved they will take.


