New Jersey  |  DUI Law

question bubble
11/26/07, 2:32 pm

Legal Question


Courts vs. the State

My bf got a DWI in NJ. The court system looks at it as his first offense, but the ''state of NJ'' looks at it as his second offense. His first offense was 27 years ago when he was 18. How can there be such a discrepancy?

I know the courts exonerates you after 10 years, why doesn't the state? He has gone to his 12 hr. alcohol class which cost him $200+, now they want him to go to a alcohol program that costs $500+ or AA for one year once a week for one hour. This is totally insane.

Why the difference or who could you write to about such an crazy thing?

Thanks for your help!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search