New Jersey | Medical Leave
9/18/09, 7:51 pm
Legal Question
Can a person be terminated while on disability in the State of New Jersey?
Can a person be terminated while on disability in the State of New Jersey?
|
Read More Answered By: Locksley Wade |
The short answer is yes, in the State of NJ you can be lawfully terminated from employment while on disability. On the other hand, each situation may be unique and it may preclude employment termination. |
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Silverman |
I concur with the previous answer. I'll add a few comments because I noticed that you listed this question in the FMLA section. You cannot be fired because you applied for protected medical leave (such as FMLA) and you cannot be fired solely because of your disability. However, if you were out for an extended time and the motivation was purely economical, the employer may not have acted unlawfully. You should speak with an attorney to determine what protections are applicable. At a minimum, you should stay on disability as long as your doctor deems necessary and then file for unemployment. You cannot collect both at the same time.
If you would like to discuss further, I can be reached at 856-874-9090.
Good luck, Dan |
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Princeton, NJ
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-31
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Wildwood, NJ
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-05
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
► I was subpeoned to appear in family court in NJ I currently live in Florida and...
► I work in Pa but live in NJ which state do I file for family leave act
► Custody if a person has a long criminal record could they get custody of a child
► Family and medical leave act My husband will start treatment for cancer very soon. I...
► Intermittent time off under FMLA My daughter's diagnosis is severe depression and...
► Child care FMLA My wife & I work for a large company she had the baby premature...
► Wrongful termination under FMLA? While I understand that New Jersey is an ''At...
More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press