New Jersey | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Legal length
How long should it take to settle a law suit in Automobile accident case?
Is there a law or statute that fix a time, maximum or minimum in which the case must be settled?
thank you
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Re: How long should it take to settle a law suit? It may never be settled. That's why we have statutes of limitation within which a suit must be filed, or the claim is barred. In the case of a personal injury in NJ, for instance, if the case cannot be settled, for any reason, within two years, then suit must be filed. Then, if the case is not settled, eventually, it will be listed for trial and a Judge or jury will decide the case. Since some counties have more cases than others, the time within which the case will be listed for trial varies. However, once it is filed, there is no fixed limitation. Keep in mind that this advice is based purely on the little bit of information that you have given to me. There certainly may be other factors that would change my opinion. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. Since it appears that you have not retained an attorney, you may want to contact an attorney (either me or someone else) to discuss your matter in more detail. Only then will you be able to rely on the advice. I will be happy to assist you. However, you need to call me at 856-546-8010. Good luck! Rob Gleaner
|
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C.
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


