New Jersey | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Breaking a lease because of job
I am leaving the state because of job transfer. Can I break my lease without paying the balance.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Lease If you are a Military personnel, you might be able to break a lease if you have Military documentation of such a move, and not have to pay the remaining balance. On the other hand, if you are a civilian, you need to examine your lease agreement because such agreement controls if there is a penalty for breaking the lease. You can always try to see if the landlord will let you out earlier without paying the balance. In that case, make sure you confirm it in writing. Because this is a contractual matter, the lease will control; and you may have to pay the balance in accordance with the lease terms. I recommend you contact an attorney and allow the attorney to examine the lease. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Robert A. Gleaner, P.C.
Audubon, NJ
Questions Answered: 1218
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Berkowitz & Raiken
Montville, NJ
Questions Answered: 406
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-23
Search Questions and Answers


