New Jersey | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Accident
Live in NY but incident incurred in NJ. My daughter fell at day care,5/23/03. When she fell she banged her head on a shelf that holds toys. I would estimate that she received 25-35 sitches but plastic surgeon advised there were too many to count. I do realize this was an accident and I wasn't there to witness but I question certain things, such as if the day care room was arranged right for her age range (25 months). They have racks in the midst of the room holding toys. When I dropped her off she was left with one lady and 8 children. I dropped her off about 7:30 & about 30 min later I got the call. When I picked her up I questioned the medical bill because my insurance only covers 90% and with an accident my medical insurance will want me to sign a paper stating I will not get money from a 3rd party. A person at the Day Care center verbally advised that the facility will cover her medical bills but I didn't get it in writing and I am not sure how much will be covered. But what if her face doesn't fully recover? What if a future surgeory is recommended? This day care center is a chain and it is located nationally. What would be the cost to me the parent?


