New Jersey | Personal Injury
Legal Question
suing for pain and suferring
tell me the limitations for suing for pain and suffering how many times medical bills loss work etc. etc. in New Jersey
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Re: suing for pain and suferring I believe your question is aimed at the limitations set by the NJ State Legislature in its statutes whereby the right to sue was limited depending on certain choices made when you purchase your auto insurance. Basically, if you chose the "verbal threshold" you would only be permitted to sue the other driver in the case of "serious injuries" as defined in the statute but ultimately determined by the Courts. If, on the other hand, you had elected "no threshold", then you would have the unlimited right to sue for compensation based on the severity of your injuries, that is, for "pain and suffering". All of this would apply to your right to sue the other driver. On the other hand, your own insurance company would be liable to pay for all medical bills (subject to certain deduductibles and co-pays) and for your lost pay, again subject to certain limitations. No definitive answer can be given to your question without a careful review of your insurance policy and the facts and circumstances of your motor vehicle accident. If you want me to assist you, give me a call at 856-546-8010. Mention LawGuru when you call! Good luck! Rob Gleaner |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Gary Moore Attorney At Law
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 5393
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C.
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Search Questions and Answers


