New Jersey | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Rental house being sold
My rental house is being sold. Can the new owner just get rid of me. I have no written lease. I live in NJ. I have lived in the house for 15 years.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Walter LeVine |
Re: Rental house being sold Since you are renting real estate, there should be a written lease. Without one you are considered a month-to-month tenant, so you can be evicted upon 30-days (calendar month) notice. Not having read the contract of sake, I do not know what representations or statements were made about tenants, so you should inquire. If the new owner intends to continue your lease, you should get something in writing. If the new owner intends to occupy the house, this gets more complicated for you. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walter D. LeVine, P. A.
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Miriam N. Jacobson
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Robert A. Gleaner, P.C.
Audubon, NJ
Questions Answered: 1218
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Search Questions and Answers


