New Mexico  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
6/20/10, 10:38 pm

Legal Question


A bar in a town I'm currently staying in has a sign that says; if you attempt to buy alcohol there and are underage, they will withhold your drivers license and possibly detain you until the police arrive.

Is it legal for them to refuse to return your license?

Are there limitations as to what offense a civilian can detain you for? I.E. trespassing, assault, underage drinking.

Also, does a drivers license belong to you or the state? What rights and responsibility does it entitle?

Thanks,

Charles


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search