New York  |  Disability Law

question bubble
12/17/05, 6:46 pm

Legal Question


discrimination in support trial

My feance is a recovering alcihaulic. Her son lives with his father. She was paying support, then left her job to recive treatment for her illness. she recived inpaitiant treatment for about 4 months. during her treatment she quit her job because the facility where she was being treated would not alow her to work. she has since gained employment, but for less money with a better career oppertunity(long term). In the support trial, the respondant was a no show and the support magistrate told her that the reason for quiting her job was self induced, and therfore he would not modify her support. i belive this would not have been the case if her illness was cancer. i also belive she was discriminated against because of this. i would very graitly appreciate any input on this matter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search