New York | Disability Law
Legal Question
Harassment based upon disability
A coworker (support staff, I am an executive) to whom I have explained on several occasions, that my hearing is far from perfect (I have this documented), made a remark, after I explained it again today, to the effect ''How come I can hear YOU yapping all the time?''. I simply responded that perhaps her hearing is better. Is her constant refusal to walk over and communicate, her insistence on my getting up to hear the conversation, and this last jibe a violation of NY State Harassment law as it pertains to protection on account of disability?


