New York | Disability Law
Legal Question
fired while on disability
i was on a 4 week disability for my depression and two weeks into it my employer called and told me that they are severing my employment. is this legal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Frisch |
Re: fired while on disability The answer to your question will depend on whether you and your former employer are covered by the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA). In order to be a "covered employer" your former company must have at least 50 employees. If they do, then in order for you to be a "covered employee" you must have been working there in a full time position for at least 12 months prior to taking leave. If both of these preconditions have been met, you likely have a valid case against your former employer. If you would like to discuss this issue further please call for a free telephone consultation. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Calcagno & Associates, PLLC
Staten Island, NY
Questions Answered: 381
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Search Questions and Answers


