New York | Business Law
Legal Question
1 corp buys another. are assets and its liabilities transferred?
statutes that exist about corporate sales?
some kind of ''bulk'' turnover?
1 corp buys another. are assets and its liabilities transferred?
statutes that exist about corporate sales?
some kind of ''bulk'' turnover?
|
Read More Answered By: William Frenkel |
Re: 1 corp buys another. are assets and its liabilities transferred? Majority of states, including New York, have repealed "bulk sale" statutes that previously applied to the sale of business assets and required notification of the seller's creditors. However, state sales tax laws may still apply and require tax filings. Contact a business attorney to get legal advice on your transaction.
The above reply is in the nature of general information, is not legal advice and should not be relied on as such. |
|
Read More Answered By: Carlos Gonzalez |
Re: 1 corp buys another. are assets and its liabilities transferred? I am a business and corporate attorney, generally what happens with these transactions is that it is the responsibility of the selling party to notify all creditors of the transaction. Generally, the corporation is seen as a seperate entity and in some situations all debts and assets may be turned over to the purchaser, many things depend on the agreement of sale, and how this was gone about. Please feel free to contact my office for further assistance on this matter, I would be more than happy to help. You may contact my office via phone 2127098303 or email, see below. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7777
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
► Logo Infringement I was wondering if you can copy a logo for a product/company that...
► Selling Assets of a company I am looking to buy assets in the form of contracts from...
► Logo Infringement Is it all right to take a famous company logo and slogan and alter...
► Lemon law Is the lemon law in effect if I bought a car that has over 100,000 miles...
► Rights to reproduction of my own artwork In the 1960s & 70s I created witty...
► Flier Liability Hi. I'm not sure if this is a Business, Consumer of Personal...
► Safety Training liability I have certification from O.S.H.A. to conduct safety...
More Business Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press