New York  |  Construction Law

question bubble
2/08/07, 10:56 am

Legal Question


mechanics lien

We had our contractor walk off the job. The day before he walked off his cement contractor installed forms for a foundation at our house. He placed a lien of 35,000 on our house for supplying and the labor to install the forms. He never poured cement and we never used his forms. Five days later we sent him a certified request to remove his forms. He came five days later and removed them, but would not remove the lien. The total price of our contract with our mason was only 29,000. Consumer Affairs got him to remove the lien because he was unlicensed and he stated he did labor at our house, which he did. The unlicensed subcontractor actually installed the forms. They told him they would go after him criminally if he did not comply. He removed the lien, but put another lien on our house the same day, for 7,800. He now claimed we rented his forms and this was what he charged. How do we get rid of this unscrupulous contractor? Both liens are fraudulent.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search