New York  |  Construction Law

question bubble
6/24/06, 12:43 pm

Legal Question


Permit

My husband and I started construction in our raised ranch basement close to a month and a half ago. We wanted to convert the family room into a bedroom and a bathroom. We found what seemed to be a nice contractor on the yellow pages. We signed a contract including the dates when the project should be finished and asked if we needed a permit for the construction. The contractor said no. So construction began. Three weeks after I had doubts and asked the contractor again, he said no. So I decided to go to the town office and they told me I did. I spoke to the contractor and he said he had no insurance or a lisence so I got the permit under my name. Since then the contractor keeps telling me I went behind his back, that a permit wasn't required and he's saying that my actions voided the initial contract. I feel horrible, since the town was nice enough to give me the permit and not penalize me. I don't think he will finish the job, he keeps delaying the completion date. What are my options?

sincerely,

Dalia.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search