Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I took a cousin to court for moneys owed last year, and he was court ordered for repayments. He has missed a few payments since then, but I didn't worry about it so much. I received an email from him a few weeks ago that he lost his job, and going to housing court because he missed his last 2 months of rent.

If he is really going through hardships, I dont want to be cold hearted, so I am willing to work with him till he can get back on track. But beyond my response email to him that I can lower or hold off the payments he has to repay monthly, is there anything else I should do? Can my court order against him be voided for doing this? Crazy to ask I know, but am I asking the correct or enough questions pertaining to my issue?

Asked on 10/28/10, 9:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Can my court order against him be voided for doing this?

A. No.

Mike.

Read more
11/02/10, 12:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now