Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

Hello,

Recently i was taken to small claims court in New York and the ruling was decided that i owe $5,000. Owning no property, vehicles, no savings accounts, etc, my only income is through 2 paychecks a month, totaling under $35,000 a year. How do I begin the process to propose a payment plan to pay off the $5,000?

There is lots of info for the "winning" person to collect it via the courts, but i want to be proactive to try to avoid the additional hassle and fees.

Advice?

Asked on 2/26/10, 1:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Make a reasonable offer with a schedule of payments or perhaps a lump sum payment, such as, fifty cents on the dollar directly to the prevailing party.

Read more
3/04/10, 4:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now