New York  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/24/09, 4:00 pm

Legal Question


My ex girlfriend was charged with misdemeanor Menacing 2nd degree because I provided a false statement following a domestic dispute at our residence on September 21st. Last week I notified the state police of my willingness to sign a statement stating that I lied because I want her case to be dismissed since she did nothing wrong. The state police investigator stated that I would be charged with 2 counts of Falsifying Business Records, Class E felonies and 2 counts of Providing a False Instrument for filing, Class A misdemeanors. Now I dont understand the felonies condsidering that the statement I signed against her clearly states that providing a false statement will result in a class A misdemeanor. I have talked to several police officer friends of mine and they all agreed that they cant understand the felony charges. I havent yet been charged. Is this investigator charging me correctly? My signed statement clearly states " Providing a false statement in New York State is punishable as a class A misdemeanor".


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search